hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Michael’s Restaurant – Pizza Party

balloons

My friend Elle threw her husband a surprise birthday party at Michael’s Restaurant Pizza Bar. Elle is more into food than I am, so when she told me that Michael’s is one of her favourite restaurants, I was keen to sample the pizza.

beer

Elle reserved the second level floor and patio. We chatted, drank and played with toy dinosaurs while we waited for her husband to arrive. Grasshopper was on tap, and at $5.25 a pint, it was an inexpensive beverage. Our lone server was friendly and efficient, and considering the size of Elle’s party, she did very well looking after all the guests.

two pizzas

Elle must have ordered a large pizza for every guest, as the table was continuously replenished with pies. She also ordered a huge vegetable platter. I mentioned to Elle that the veggies were really fresh. She told me that the restaurant doesn’t normally offer vegetable platters, but they made it just for her. I tried to fill up on the veggies, but the pizza was so good, I ended up eating three huge slices.

My favourite pizza was the House Special ($23.75), which came with green onions, mushrooms, ham, feta and a lot of mozzarella cheese. The pizza at Michael’s reminds me of Hanni’s, with the similar thick layer of stringy cheese and crunchy crust. I was surprised the pizza wasn’t heavy or greasy, considering how much cheese was on it.

pizza

When I left at about 8:00pm on a Saturday night, the first level of the restaurant was still busy with happy customers. Michael’s has been in business for 26 years, and I can see why. They make one hell of an intense pizza.

Michael's Restaurant Pizza Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

