hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Elite Event – Yelp Gets Into The Swing Of Things

Last week, I attended a “Yelp Gets Into The Swing Of Things” party at the Hillhurst-Sunnyside Community Association. The event included tasty eats from local restaurants as well as swing dance lessons. I’m not a swinger ;-), but I attended because Yelp Elite parties always means tasty free treats!

Crave Cupcakes

Crave Cupcakes

First up on our agenda was a visit to Crave Cupcakes. For someone who rarely eats sweets, I have bought my fair share of Crave cupcakes. As usual, the cupcakes were fresh and moist, the icing sweet and creamy. The Crave girl manning the station was just as nice as the dessert, turning a blind eye to our multiple trips to her tower of cupcakes.

Caffe Franceso

Caffe Franceso

Next up was Caffe Francesco, serving up housemade watermelon gazpacho and assorted cheeses. This was my first time trying watermelon gazpacho, and I really enjoyed it. The soup was served chilled, mildly sweet with a slight heat to it. It turns out Caffe Francesco is located near my home, so I’ll have to check out their store to see what else they have to offer.

Midtown

Midtown

Midtown Kitchen served pork belly with a sweet tomato based sauce as well as a flourless brownie. The crispy pork belly was wicked – completely crispy all around, making for a crackling and flavour rich bite. I love the flourless brownie – cool, creamy and rich. The chocolate tasted more like milk than dark chocolate, which I prefer. After sampling Midtown’s fare, I vowed to stop by for dinner.

Pork Bites

Pork Bites

Big Rock Brewery made an appearance. I sampled: Scottish Heavy Ale; IPA; and SAAZ Republic Pilz. The Scottish Ale was my favourite – it was stronger tasting beer than my usual preference, but the subtle sweetness made it very enjoyable.

Big Rock

Big Rock

I missed out on coffee from Postino Cafe; Manhattans from Gibson’s Finest Canadian Whisky; and wine and snacks sponsored by WaterSeal Technology. I overindulged at the other stations, but from what I heard from my friends, everything was tasty.

Pork with Tomato Sauce

Pork with Tomato Sauce

Just when the swing dance instructors were about to begin, my friends and I had to leave for the evening. Unfortunately, some of us had to wake up early for work. Add in the fact I have two left feet, I decline to swing around. A big thanks to Wendy, the manager at Yelp, and all the local businesses that participated at Yelp Gets Into the Swing of Things.

Midtown on Urbanspoon

Crave Cookies and Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

Francesco's Food and Coffee on Urbanspoon

2 responses to “Elite Event – Yelp Gets Into The Swing Of Things

  1. www September 25, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Greetings, I think your website could possibly be having web
    browser compatibility issues. When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in IE,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, great website!

    • Hitting the Sauce September 25, 2013 at 1:33 pm

      Thanks. I know my website’s layout is very basic. I’m terrible with web site stuff and figuring out how to do it. Been thinking of getting someone to fix it up and make it more appealing. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

