hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Pig & Duke: Honey Boo Boo Approved

Here Comes Honey Boo Boo, scene from the Georgia’s Miss Sparkle and Shine Pageant.

Honey Boo Boo: “Mama, I think I’m a little chunky today.”
June: “You have to stay away from those chicken nuggets.”

Here comes Honey Boo Boo

Here comes Honey Boo Boo


I can relate to poor Honey Boo Boo. I was feeling a little chunky myself, but worst yet, I found myself at Temptation Island, the Pig & Duke. Would I succumb to the pleasures of bacon, fries and burgers, or would I learn from Honey Boo Boo’s rookie mistake?

Chicken Fingers & Fries - Honey Boo Boo wouldn't stand a chance.

Chicken Fingers & Fries – Honey Boo Boo woulnd’t stand a chance.


In this situation, it was go big (literally) or go home. After all, it was I who picked the Pig & Duke for my friend’s stagette. The bride to be, Aga, requested a pub-like venue for her party. Pig & Duke has the ideal location, close to the after dinner venue, Commonwealth Lounge and Bar. The food is tasty, and the prices for alcohol is inexpensive. For example, a large pour of Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc was $7.50 and the bottle cost $28.00. A bottle of Blanche de Chambly went for $6.00.
Fish & Chips

Fish & Chips


Based on Peaches’ post on her positive experience at Pig & Duke, I had to try the steak. The strip loin was aged for 28 days, and came with Texas toast, fries and a salad. To my delight, the steak sandwich was on special that night for only $9.99.
Steak Sandwich, Caesar Salad & Fries

Steak Sandwich, Caesar Salad & Fries

My steak was cooked to a perfect medium. The steak was well seasoned and had that delicious charbroiled taste to it. Aga’s mother-in-law ordered asked for her steak to be cooked to a medium rare. She mentioned to me that most pubs never cook her steak properly. She was ecstatic that Pig & Duke got it right. I really enjoyed the fries, which were very crispy on the outside, while the the interior texture was almost like whipped mashed potatoes. The blue sauce that accompanied the steak bites was a good dip for the fries.

The biggest plate of nachos I've ever seen. And I've seen a lot of nachos in my day.

The biggest plate of nachos I’ve ever seen. And I’ve seen a lot of nachos in my day.

The band, The Ruminants, played throughout the night. Aga’s mother-in-law really enjoyed the music, so I asked the band’s lead if she could meet him. He kindly obliged, making her day. She almost forgave him when he gave a shout-out to the bride-to-be, stating he’ll miss her wild ways when Aga was a groupie.

Overall, the food was good and the inexpensive prices will make this a frequent hangout for me. Pig & Duke is an awesome place to visit with large groups. Our server Cori even split up everyone’s bill, which I’m sure was a pain in the ass. I don’t want to knock other pubs, but I have to say for casual fare, Pig & Duke outshines the majority.

Pig & Duke on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

