hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Nilu’s Kitchen & Bun Bo Hue Deli – Sunday Funday

Nila front
Last Sunday, Peaches and I checked out two places: Nilu’s Kitchen – Bangladeshi Cuisine and Bun Bo Hue Deli. Nilu’s Kitchen is small – there are about 8 tables and a bar table with stools. Shortly after we were seated, a jug of water was brought over to our table. The owner came over to our table to take our order. When he found out it was our first time at Nilu’s, he took great pains to explain the menu. I thought he was a warm and personable host.

Pulaw

Pulaw


Peaches and I ordered Pulaw ($2.99); Chingri Machh Bhuna ($6.99), Phulkopi Aloo Bhaji ($5.99) Bhorta Bagun Shutki Dried Fish (4.99). The pulaw was a large portion of rice. I loved the aroma and flavours of the saffron and carmelized onions mixed in with the fluffy rice. It was perfect medium to soak up the powerful spices in the Bagun (mashed eggplant) and Shutki (mashed dried fish). The eggplant was creamy, peppered with cilantro. The dried fish was bright red. I like the spicy oils that saturated the dried fish.
Bagun and Shutki

Phulkopi Aloo Bhaji & Bhorta Bagun Shutki


My favourite dish was Chingri Machh Bhuna. I loved the mellow tomatoes – the texture was silky smooth and it cooked so that it wasn’t acidic. The sauce that covered the shrimp was tangy.

Chingri Machh Bhuna

Chingri Machh Bhuna

The Phulkopi Aloo Bhaji was a combination of cauliflower and potatoes. The vegetables still retained its natural texture. I’m having a hard time describing the flavours in all the dishes, as the spices were all foreign to me. I do know that I enjoyed the food and I can’t wait to go back and try some more of the menu, such as the fish and chicken curries. Though I enjoyed the spiciness of the eggplant and dried fish, I’d recommend if you can’t handle the heat to ask prior to ordering. The total cost for this tasty feast was only $21.00.

Phulkopi Aloo Bhaji

Phulkopi Aloo Bhaji


When we finished eating, AY arrived just in time to come with us to Bun Bo Hue Deli. Peaches told me to bring my own pot and get it filled with soup, assorted meats, vegetables and noodles. When she saw the my medium size pot, she shook her head and said, “Your pot is too small. It won’t fit all the food. Maybe the owner will sell you a smaller noodle combo.” When I handed my pot to the employee at Bun Bo Hue, he confirmed Peaches suspicion. Instead, he filled a smaller version for only $15.00 rather than the usual $20.00.

When we waited for our food to be packed, AY entertained us with stories about her acquaintances back home on gluten-free and vegetarian diets. Apparently, these girls were avoiding everything ‘bad’ yet gaining a lot of weight. A very superficial conversation, yes, but what struck me was everyone inside the store, both employees and customers, were intently listening to AY. I wasn’t as fascinated with AY’s stories, but judging from the interest she was getting at Bun Bo Hue, I guess she was onto a hot topic.

Honestly – this pot of food is a stellar deal. L, AY and I enough soup for dinner and lunch. The noodles, herbs and vegetables are packed separately, so that everything stays fresh. The meatballs and slices of beef were tasty, doused in two spicy condiments that were also provided by Bun Bo Hue Deli. I foresee many more successful food filled adventure in Forest Lawn. Next stop, Mimo Portuguese!

Nilu's Kitchen Bangladeshi Cuisine on Urbanspoon

Bun Bo Hue Deli on Urbanspoon

One response to “Nilu’s Kitchen & Bun Bo Hue Deli – Sunday Funday

  1. Pingback: Lunch at Nilu’s Kitchen Bangladeshi Cuisine | followmyfoodtrail

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

