hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Jelly Modern Doughnuts – Yelp Elite Event

20130605_190203
When I was younger, I wanted to attend culinary school. Instead of taking the plunge, I wisely avoided life by spending the next seven years in university. So, when I was invited to a doughnut making party at Jelly Modern Doughnuts, I was delighted. This was my opportunity to unleash a forgotten fantasy.

JC Superstar

JC Superstar

JC Superstar (Jonathan Cheng) was the MC of the sugar induced night. Gummi Boutique provided a mountain of candy. For refreshments, Jessica from Distillers Pride provided a sweet cocktail, the “Oriental Ale”. L asked me later if I was offended by the out of date terminology. Surprisingly, I was not, but I thought “Asian Ale” had a nicer ring to it. Not because it was politically correct, but for the purpose of alliteration.

Distillers Pride YYC

Distillers Pride YYC

The vodka of choice was Magic Moments. Jessica informed the Yelp crew that the vodka was made with 100% rice grain, and free of artificial flavours and preservatives. Phew. I was worried that the vodka wasn’t gluten-free. The drink was a mix of 2 ounces of vodka, lemongrass and ginger remix, half an ounce of simple syrup, lime juice, and ginger ale. Distillers Pride provided the recipe along with the complimentary cocktail, which was delicious.

Lovely staff at Jelly Modern

Lovely staff at Jelly Modern

Wendy planned a game for us to play. We were each given four stickers and told to talk to other Yelpers about our dream donut recipe. If the Yelper liked your idea, they would give you a sticker. The person with the most stickers would win. The first prize was a bottle of Magic Moments vodka and the second prize was half a dozen doughnuts. This was a no brainer – doughnuts are awesome but I wanted more magical moments with my vodka.

Jelly Modern Donut Demonstration

Jelly Modern Donut Demonstration


Station

Station


Claudia from Jelly Modern Doughnuts taught us how to pick up the donut by the ears and how to twist it after glazing. Her demonstration showcased jelly, maple bacon, carrot and smores doughnuts. We were given our very own box of donuts to decorate at stations.
My donut

My donut

The gang started at their stations, dunking, piping, and sprinkling their doughnuts. When everyone was busy I paraded my poutine idea around the room like Honey Boo Boo prances on a stage. I regaled Yelpers with my vision – crispy fries protruding from a freshly fried doughnut. I’d add squeaky cheese curds, rich duck gravy, truffle salt and maple bacon bits. I don’t believe for a second that my idea won Yelpers over. Rather it was my newly discovered talent to hustle. I also think I came across as desperate and fellow Yelpers took pity on me. I never forget an act of kindness and for those who didn’t give me a sticker (and there were a few), I also never forget a slight. Thank you so much Yelp Calgary, Jelly Modern Doughnuts, Gummi Boutique, Distillers Pride and Jonathan Cheng for a fun filled night.

People's Choice

People’s Choice


Distillers Pride

https://twitter.com/DistillersYYC

Gummi Boutique

http://gummiboutique.com/

Jelly Modern Doughnuts on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

