hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Jamesons & The Last Defence Lounge

This Thursday, I attended Dr. B’s retirement party at Jamesons pub (Brentwood location). The department head ordered several Arthur’s Ultimate Platters ($44.95), which consisted of 3 pulled pork sliders, 3 fish tacos, boneless pork ribs, a pound of chicken wings, Spolumbo’ s spicy chorizo sausage, and a dish of artichoke and spinach dip.
Unfortunately, there was no time to snap photos, as the food went fast. The office manager commented to me that the pork slider was particularly yummy. I saw another person eyeing the last slider, so in a blink of an eye, I made a quick decision. My hand darted out before Professor Slow could snatch it. I could see the look of disappointment in his eyes, but hey, it’s a dog-eat-dog world. You snooze you lose man. Guess they didn’t teach you that in class!

The sauce on the pork was wet and tangy, and the meat was fall apart tender. I could also taste something crunchy and quite possibly, deep-fried intermingled with the meat. Whatever it was, it was delicious. The tacos were also very good – the white fillet was delicately seasoned, making it a light and non-greasy alternative to the wings and pork ribs.

For drinks, I opted for Red Belly Black ($8.95), a lush, plummy wine. I’ve only been working for about a year now, so I guess I still have the student mentality. As this was a departmental party (i.e. funded), I went a little gung-ho on the wine. I was also expected to give the guest of honour a “roasting” in front of about 50 guests.

The next day, I invited Dr. B out for his retirement lunch. Initially I wanted to take him to somewhere nice, such as Vero Bistro in Kensington. However, with the snow coming down and the temperature dropping, we settled with the campus pub, the Last Defence. As far as university pubs go, this is one of the nicest I’ve seen (compared to UBC’s Pit or the pub at SFU).

I ordered a glass of water and a small cup of soup ($2.99). The jalapeño black bean soup tasted homemade. I liked the fact the beans were not canned, and that the vegetables were fresh. The soup was a tad salty but it had a nice heat to it.

Dr. B and I shared the Divine Goddess flatbread ($12.99). The crust was grilled, chewy and dense. The cheese blend was a nice combination – the feta on top of the mozzarella gave it an edge. The marinara sauce was light but could have used a bit more of a kick. The vegetables on the pizza were tasty – you could discern the distinct flavours and textures of the crunchy broccoli florets, roasted red peppers and spinach.

Last Defence Lounge was a good spot for lunch. The food isn’t going to win culinary awards any time soon, but it was fresh and the service always good. It may not be as inexpensive as other campus options, but it’s not overpriced either.

Jamesons Pub on Urbanspoon

The Last Defence Lounge on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

