hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Crab Pot: Christine versus Food

Recently, L and I drove down to Seattle for the day. We stopped by the Crab Pot for an early dinner before we headed back to Vancouver. The restaurant was dark, so we requested a seat outside on the wharf. Initially, it was a great idea. It was a sunny day, and at first, we enjoyed the smell of the sea and the shrieks of the seagulls. However, as the dinner proceeded, we noticed that while the breeze was refreshing, it also prematurely chilled the dipping butter and food. Oh – the trials we face…

We wanted to try the Crab Pot because we had watched Adam on the food network show, Man v. Food, chow down on a massive seafood platter. As Crab Pot is infamous for their crab feasts, we ordered the Westport platter. Our server returned with plastic bibs, a wooden mallet and a paper cover for our table. While customers may find the idea of smashing seafood on the table unique, the novelty has certainly worn off for the servers. While our server was efficient, it clear that tourism has taken a toll on him. I guess it didn’t help that I asked him to take our picture with the mallets and bibs.

I know I shouldn’t complain about the complimentary bread, because, hey, it was free. Don’t you hate it when someone says they know they shouldn’t say something but they end up saying it anyway? It’s almost like by saying they are aware that they shouldn’t be saying it, it cancels out the fact that they did, indeed, say it! Anyway, the bread smelled good but it was warmed too long in the oven. It was rock hard (that’s what she said). I would have chucked it at a seagull, but I was afraid that by doing so, I might accidently kill it.

The Westport platter came with Dungeness crab, Snow crab, shrimp, steamed clams, mussels, Andouille sausage, and red potatoes. The server arrived with a big metal pot and dumped it on our table. We had a runaway corn and potato incident, but luckily, no major fatalities. The potatoes were undercooked and could have used more Cajun seasoning. The corn was okay, except we got a couple of end pieces and there wasn’t much to chew. No one really cares about the vegetables though, because at Crab Pot, it’s all about the seafood. L and I tore into the shrimp. I was a little skirmish at first – the long antennas were touching everything. I got over it once I ripped the first head off and pulled out the meat from its body. The shrimp itself was mushy and lukewarm, but dipped in butter; it was good enough for me. The mussels were quite small in size and fishy, and many of the shells were broken or covered in barnacles. The clams on the other hand were fresh and plump.

The real highlight of the meal was the Dungeness and Snow crab. I thought the bibs were just for show, but when I used my mallet to smash the crab, I soon realized it served an important function. With each whack, I had crab juice spraying all over my hair, my face and my pants. The Snow crab had lots of fresh snowy meat, but it was the King crab that was the best of the bunch.  The meat was plentiful, rich and sweet.

The next time we visit, I’m going for the King crab and some of the deep-fried seafood delights. Eating at Crab Pot was a fun and messy experience. If you aren’t too picky about your seafood and want to try something different, this is the place for you.

Crab Pot Restaurant & Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

